(ExCPT) Pharmacy Technician Certification > Requirements > Kansas Requirements
Kansas Pharmacy Technician Certification Requirements
1. Applicant must submit an application ($25) to the pharmacy board.
2. Applicant must take a 20-question exam administered by the pharmacist-in-charge with a passing grade of 75% (15 questions correct).
Applicant will receive a renewal form in the mail and must submit the form ($25) to the pharmacy board biannually. [K.S.A.65-1663]
Pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for administering a training program and is responsible for maintaining records. Training programs are reviewed annually to ensure compliance with the criteria listed in regulations. [K.A.R. 68-5-15]
The National Pharmacy Technician Training Program can be used to meet these requirements.
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1. The ratio may be increased to 3:1 as long as two of the three technicians have been certified by a board-approved program. [K.A.R. 68-5-16]
Only required to maintain certification.
Can the ExCPT be Taken?
The ExCPT has been approved by the Kansas State Board of Pharmacy. If the pharmacist supervises three technicians, at least two must be certified by a board-approved certification program.
Note: This chart is provided as an informational service only and is not to be construed as legal advice. While reasonable attempts were made to ensure accuracy of this information at the time of writing, it is subject to change. Readers are encouraged to check the applicable statutes or board regulations for the latest information. This information does not come with any expressed or implied warranty. Hyperlinks used above may expire if the Board of Pharmacy has made changes to its website. If a hyperlink does not work, you can still access the referenced information by visiting the Board of Pharmacy website address listed above. To report any out-of-date information on this list, please notify us at email@example.com. Thank you.