(ExCPT) Pharmacy Technician Certification > Requirements > Tennessee Requirements
Tennessee Pharmacy Technician Certification Requirements
Requirements: [TN Board Reg. 1140-2-.02]
1. Applicant must submit an application ($50) to the pharmacy board.
2. Applicant must submit a statement of good moral character to the pharmacy board.
3. Applicant must sign and submit an affidavit from his/her employer confirming his/her understanding of state regulations and statutes to the pharmacy board.
Applicant must submit a renewal application
($50) to the pharmacy board biannually beginning on the day the license was initially granted.
Use of The National Pharmacy Technician Training Program is optional.
The technician-to-pharmacist ratio is 2:1. This ratio may be increased to 3:1 if one of the technicians is certified. [TN Board Reg. 1140-2-.02]
Only required to maintain certification.
Can the ExCPT be Taken?
1. If the pharmacist supervises three or more technicians, at least one must be certified by a board-approved certification program; certification is voluntary for the other two.
2. If the pharmacist supervises less than three technicians, certification is completely voluntary.
The ExCPT is approved by the Tennessee Board of Pharmacy.
Note: This chart is provided as an informational service only and is not to be construed as legal advice. While reasonable attempts were made to ensure accuracy of this information at the time of writing, it is subject to change. Readers are encouraged to check the applicable statutes or board regulations for the latest information. This information does not come with any expressed or implied warranty. Hyperlinks used above may expire if the Board of Pharmacy has made changes to its website. If a hyperlink does not work, you can still access the referenced information by visiting the Board of Pharmacy website address listed above. To report any out-of-date information on this list, please notify us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Thank you.