Governing Boards

NHA Boards

Our certification boards and customer advisory board represent leaders and important stakeholders in allied health education fields.

About NHA’s Certification Boards

Our two certification boards operate independently to set policies. They have the responsibility of oversight over all certification and recertification decisions, including governance, eligibility standards and the development, administration and scoring of assessment instruments.

The certification boards are responsible for the following:

  • Adopting certification program policies and procedures
  • Adopting its own rules of procedure
  • Approving the certification exam content outline (also known as blueprint)
  • Approving appointments to the Exam Review committee and acting on its recommendations
  • Appointing a Disciplinary and Appeals Committee
  • Electing successors to the Board
  • Appointing ad hoc committees as necessary

The certification boards have developed a Codes of Ethics found here. >

If you have an interest in serving on one of the two boards, we invite your inquiry to Douglas Viehland, Executive Director-Certifications, [email protected]

NHA Certification Governing Board

The NHA Certification Governing Board oversees seven of the eight certifications offered by NHA. A separate board oversees the ExCPT exam and CPhT certification program. The membership generally includes one representative of each of the seven certifications. One member serves as a public member to represent the consumers of these services. The members serve three-year terms and may serve consecutive terms. The end of the current term is noted below.

Tracey Pinkney, CCMA, CPT, CPCT/A, CET, ExCPT, (Interim Chair – 2020)President/Owner, G.E.T. Phlebotomy Trained & Certified LLC
Virtua Outreach Labs, New Jersey
Professor, Eastern University Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Lead Instructor, Mercer County CC, New Jersey
Mobile Examiner, Quest Diagnostics/ExamOne, Pennsylvania
April Austin, NRCMA, CBCS (Member – 2020) Instructor/Allied Health Career Placement Coordinator
Delta College of Arts and Technology
Lafayette, Louisiana
Marilyn Bier, CAE, ACC (Public Member – 2022) President and Owner
Bluewater Consulting and Coaching, LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Tracey Faulkner RN, BSN, MBA, CIR (Member – 2021) Talent Acquisition Leader and Business Partner,
Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, Missouri
Daniel L. Gottschall Jr, CCA, CBCS, CMAA (Member – 2021) Business Office Representative
UNC Pediatrics at North Hills
Raleigh, North Carolina
Tracy A. Huneke CP, NPA, CHI (Member – 2021) Director/School of Allied Health Careers
Manager/Department of Professional
Development and Education
Griffin Hospital
Derby, Connecticut
Nikki Patterson, CMA (Member – 2022)OPG EMR Educator Manager
Columbus, Ohio
Helen Suchocki-Martinez CCMA, CET, CPT, CHI, AHCM (Member – 2020) Medical Assistant/Health Technician
Rutgers College, Hurtado Health Center
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Medical Assistant Instructor, CPR Instructor (AHA & ASHI), Stop the Bleed Instructor
American Institute of Medical Science, Edison/Piscataway, New Jersey

ExCPT Certification Governing Board

The ExCPT Certification Governing Board oversees ExCPT exam and the CPhT certification program. Members include certified pharmacy technicians currently employed and practicing in the field and stakeholder members such as pharmacists, educators, and employers. One member serves as a public member to represent the consumers of these services. The members serve three-year terms and may serve consecutive terms. The end of the current term is noted below.

Justin D. Lusk, Lt Colonel-USAF, PharmD
(2020 – Pharmacist) Chair–Stakeholder Member 
USAF Pharmacy Technology and Informatics Chief, Joint Base, San Antonio, Texas
Anita V. Benavidez, MBA, BSHA, CPhT (2021 – Technician) Technician Member Supervisor, Pharmacy Operations, Optum/Avella Specialty Pharmacy, Phoenix, Arizona

Richard (Rick) Capraro Jr. CPhT (2022 – Technician) Technician Member 
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Department of Surgery, Division of Urology, Brigham & Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts

Steven Huffer, CPhT (2020 – Technician) Technician Member
Remedi Senior Care, Plano, Texas

Leigh Anne Taylor Knight, Ed.D. (2021) Public MemberChief Operating Officer, The DeBruce Foundation, Kansas City, Missouri

Timothy M. Maynard, PharmD (2022 – Pharmacist) Stakeholder Member Director of Pharmacy Recruiting and College Relations, Albertson's Companies, Boise, Idaho
Timaka Williams, CPhT (2020 – Technician) Technician MemberCertified Pharmacy Technician, Henry Ford Medical Center, Detroit, Michigan

Clinical Health Advisory Board

Our customer advisory board's mission is to drive NHA strategic direction through a formal trusted partner relationship between NHA and our most valued customers, industry influencers and prospective customers.

Davene Yankle, MS, BSN, RN Manager of Clinical Services, OhioHealth Physician Group, OhioHealth
Adele R. Johnson-Kebe, SHRM-CP,  PHRRegional Human Resources Director, American Group - HCA | Physician Services Group
SharaDawn Miller, MS, BSN, RN Clinical Education Specialist, Banner Health
Nichole M. Stitt, PhD, MA, BS Executive Director of Curriculum, Ivy Tech Community College
Jeremy Barthels, DC, MS Department Chair, School of Health Sciences, Rasmussen College
Antrea Dowd, MBPA, NCMA Corporate Director of Education, Brookline College
Tricia Berry, PhD, MA, BSAssociate Dean and Director of Clinical and Practicum Programs, Kaplan University/Purdue University Global
Julie Walters Director of Operations The College of Health Care Professions
Ebony Vega, LVN Manager/Clinical Education, Dignity Health Medical Foundation
Mary Gjernes, M.Ed., BS, MLT (ASCP), CMA (AAMA) Assistant Professor and Health Sciences Program Director, Presentation College
Lt. Col. John Pitus, (Ret.)   Healthcare Executive Consultant, Pitus Consulting
SGM Michael T. Stoddard, MBA, BASc. Chief of Staff of Army Senior Fellows, Department of Labor - VETS
Cindy Robinson, BSN, RN CTE Health Science Instructor, Tyler Texas ISD
Pamala Smith, BSN Vice President Nursing/Chief Nursing Executive, Advocate - Medical Group
Elizabeth Thompson Rademacher Service Line Administrator, Indiana University Health – Southern Indiana Physicians
William Thompson, ACPME CEO Orthopedic Institute of Pennsylvania/Arlington Orthopedics
Sunil Wadhwa, MBA National Dean of Education, Education Affiliates
Kimberly Doerflinger Medical Assistant Program Coordinator, Southeastern Institute

Pharmacy Technician Advisory Board

The goal of the Pharmacy Technician Advisory Board is to bring together pharmacy thought leaders to collaborate around the utilization, development and advancement of pharmacy technicians with a goal of improving pharmacy operations and ultimately patient care.

Charlotte Weller, PharmD, Pharmacy Health Services Manager, Brookshire Grocery Company
Kristen Malacos, MS, CPhT Pharmacy Administrator, Pharmacy Systems Inc. Magruder Hospital
Shane Desselle, RPh, PhD, FAPhA President, Applied Pharmacy Solutions
Jason Palikij, BS, CPhT Director of Pharmacy Technician Education Program, Johnson County Community College
Adrian Bocciarelli, Pharm.D,. RPh. Pharmacy Clinical Services Manager, Walmart
Dan Johnson, RPh, PharmDOwner, DRJ Healthcare Consulting LLC
Jennifer Makay, M.Ed.Program Manager, Fairfax County Public Schools
Ted Grothe, BAPharmacy Owner, Hometown Pharmacy
Mike Fish, RPhDistrict Manager, Hannaford Supermarets & Pharmacy
Lorri Walmsley, PharmD Senior Pharmacy Manager, Walgreens
Chris Simard, PharmD Pharmacy District Manager, Bartell Drugs
Denise Propes, CPhT Pharmacy Technician Coordinator, University of Michigan Medical Center
James Cobert, PharmD, FASHP, FCSHP Clinical Professor of Pharmacy and Associate Dean for Experiential Education
Rodney Cox, RPh, MS Director of Pharmacy at Memorial Hermann Health System