Your path to electronic health records specialist certification

Your path to electronic health records specialist certification

Certified Electronic Health Records Specialist (CEHRS)


Electronic health records skills
are highly sought-after in the healthcare industry

The security, completeness and accuracy of patient data are critical. The Electronic Health Records Specialist Certification (CEHRS) is often combined with other NHA credentials to expand an employee's skill set, making them a valuable asset to their employers. Some common responsibilities tied to electronic health records include:
  • Auditing patient records for compliance
  • Abstracting clinical information for reports
  • Performing basic coding to submit reimbursement claims
  • Processing Release of Information (ROI) requests for medical records
  • Reviewing patient demographic and insurance information
  • Discussing patient information with physicians and insurance professionals
NHA partners with educators and employers across the United States to educate, train and certify electronic health records specialists. Find an open job near you to start your journey toward this rewarding and in-demand career.
Visit Our Job Board



One in five people surveyed in 2020 by the Kaiser Family Foundation found a mistake in their EHR. Of those, nearly half had incorrect medical histories.
(Source: Nicolas Rapp/Fortune)

CEHRS exam eligibility

Amet voluptas nostrum in nesciunt ab eos

Possess a high school diploma or GED/high school equivalency; or are scheduled to earn a high school diploma or GED/high school equivalency in the next 12 months*

*Click here for more details on the certification pathway for high school health science students.

Iste qui placeat nihil unde voluptas

Completed an electronic health records specialist training or education program within the last 5 years.


Eius laboriosam voluptas quod vitae veritatis neque perspiciatis ex laudantium enim vero voluptates fugit

Possess a high school diploma
or GED/high school equivalency

Error placeat quo recusandae praesentium animi adipisci ipsam dicta corporis nisi

1 year of supervised work experience in a electronic health records specialist field within the last 3 years; or 2 years of supervised work experience in a electronic health records specialist field within the last 5 years


See Candidate Handbook for more information about Eligibility Requirements.



NHA conducted a nationwide Job Task Analysis (JTA) to ensure we are accurately testing the most current and relevant competencies necessary to ensure proficiency in completing tasks associated with electronic health records. As a result of this extensive JTA, an updated CEHRS exam was launched on June 17, 2020.

5 steps to electronic health records specialist certification


  1. Apply for your exam

    Create a free NHA account online, anytime, and submit your Certified Electronic Health Records Specialist (CEHRS) exam application through your account portal.

  2. Set a date

    Select the date and location–online or in-person–for your exam. (An exam fee payment is required during this step.)

  3. Prepare, prepare, prepare

    Time to study! We're here to support you. We have study materials available, including an interactive study guide and CEHRS practice test.

  4. Take the exam

    You'll take the 100-question exam either at your school, a PSI testing center near you, or through live remote proctoring at the location of your choice. 

  5. Get your results

    For online exams, NHA will officially post your certification results to your account page within two days of scoring your test.

Is your school or employer sponsoring your exam?

When you create your NHA account, be sure to select your organization type, school or training center, or employer in order to:

  • Access any pre-purchased materials or exams available to you
  • Take advantage of possible discounts
  • Share your exam results with your school or employer

Ready to get your certification?

Prepare for your certification exam

Access CEHRS exam preparation materials that are designed to help you succeed.

*The purchase of NHA exam preparation materials is not required to sit for any NCCA-accredited certification exam and use does not guarantee a passing score on an exam. All NHA exams are NCCA-accredited.

NHA Mobile — 

Empowering learner success with study-on-the-go flashcards aligned to your enrolled NHA course.

NHA Mobile - Study On-the-go

Preparing your students or healthcare team for their CEHRS exam?
Talk to a certification specialist & see how easy it is to get started with your partners at NHA!

Renew your certification

Keeping your certification current is a small investment (just $7 per month!) that can help you achieve your healthcare career goals .


Certifications must be renewed every two years


There is no penalty for renewing early


Before your expiration date:

  • Complete 10 continuing education credits
  • Pay your recertification fee

If your certification has expired, you have 1 year to reinstate it

Learn More About Recertification Renewal
Continuing Education
  • 10 Continuing Education (CE) credits are required every two years to maintain certification
  • NHA's continuing education courses are free to current certification holders
  • You can complete your 10 CE credits any time prior to your certification expiration and our CE library is available online 24/7
  • Our CE library is continuously updated so you can learn the latest protocols and techniques

Learn More About Continuing Education ‣

Need to renew your certification?